Main menu


National Ranking System for Australian Paper Tiger Sailors

The ranking system is based on the average points gained at the two most recent National Titles (Australian Championships). If there is a tie on points, it is broken by the position in the most recent title. If a ranked sailor misses a Nationals, they retain a provisional ranking for one year only by taking their previous two-year average and using it in place of their missed year. If a second consecutive year is missed, they lose their ranking and will need to sail two consecutive nationals to regain a new ranking.



A, B & C Grades for Use at Australian Championships


A Grade

To gain National "A" grade status, a skipper must finish in the top 25% at a National Title. To stay in "A" grade, you need to place in the top 25% of a Nationals or Internationals in the last three years.


B Grade

To gain National "B" grade status, a skipper must finish between 25% and 50% at a National Title. Once you gain "B" grade status, you cannot revert to "C" grade.


C Grade

National "C" grade is a skipper that has sailed at a Nationals but has not finished better than the last 50% of the fleet.



A Rookie is a sailor sailing in their first National Title.